Home. Our Universe. BUDDHAS. BODHISATTVAS. Sutras.

[23] Sakra-devanam, also known as Indra, is the lord of Trayastrimsas, i.e. the thirty-three heavens.

[24] “the Utmost Bliss” in Sanskrit called Sukhavati

[25] Dharma means the truth.

[26] Eight-virtue water means: First, it is crystal clear and clean. Second, it is refreshing and cool. Third, it is tasty and delicious.        Fourth, it is light and soft. Fifth, it is smooth and invigorating. Sixth, it is calm and mild. Seventh, it can eliminate hunger, thirst        and innumerable sins and adversities when drinking it. Eighth, it can increase and benefit various extraordinary good roots after        drinking it.

[27] Water jade is known as Musaragalva or Musalagarbha which means coral, big seashell, cornelian or agate.

[28] Sari is a bird can talk.

[29] Kalavinka is a bird having a melodious voice which is found in the valleys of the Himalayas.

[30] Jivajiva is a bird with two heads which denotes mind and perception differing but the karma one.

[31] Pancendriyani means five roots, i.e. the five organs of our senses: eyes, ears, nose, tongue, and body as roots of knowing.

[32] Pancabalani means five powers (to destroy five obstacles), i.e. faith (destroying doubt), zeal (destroying remissness),        mindfulness (destroying falsity and ignorance), meditation (destroying confusion) and wisdom (destroying illusion and delusion).  

[33] Saptabodhyanga means seven characteristics of bodhi, i.e. (1) dharma-pravicaya-sambodhyanga: discrimination of the        truth and false, (2) virya-sam: zeal or continuous progress, (3) pritis: delight, (4) prasrabdhis: riddance of all grossness in order        to achieve, light, free and ease, (5) smrtis: mindfulness, (6) samadhis: meditation in order to keep the mind in a given realm        undiverted, and (7) upeksaka: complete abandonment and indifference to all disturbances of the sub-consciousness or ecstatic        mind.        

[34] Aryamarga means the eightfold noble paths, i.e. (1) samyag-drsti: correct view in regard to the four axioms, and freedom from        the common delusion, (2) samyak-samkalpa: correct thought and purpose, (3) samyag-vac: correct speech, and avoidance of        false and idle talk, (4) samyak-karmanta: correct deed or conduct, (5) samyag-ajiva: correct livelihood or occupation, (6)        samyag-vyayama: correct zeal or uninterrupted progress, (7) samyak-smrti: correct mindfulness, and (8) samyak-samadhi:        correct meditation, absorption, or abstraction.   

[35] The three evil realms mean animals, ghosts, and purgatories or hells.

[36] Asankhya means innumerable kalpas. There are four asankhya kalpas in the rise, duration, and end of every universe.

[37] Sravaka means a hearer that denotes the initial stage of nirvana reached by Hinayana disciples who understand the four        dogmas, rid themselves of the unreality of the phenomenon, and enter nirvana.  

[38] Arhat or arhan means the highest saint stage in Hinayana. The great Arhat means bodhisattva in Mahayana.

[39] Avaivartika also known as Avivartin or Aparivartya which means a bodhisattva who, in progress towards Buddhahood,        never regresses to a lower state than to which he has attained.

[40] Kusala-mula means good roots or good seed sown by a good person which will reap later.

[41] Punya means good deeds or felicity and virtue.

[42] Hetu-pratyaya means causes and concatenation.

[43] Bhutatathata means one mind, undivided mind, a spiritual unity, or pure concentration.

[44] “As the sands of Ganges” is commonly used in Buddhism as numberless.

[45] “Thousand cubes of universes” means a Buddha-world. In Buddhism, Mt. Sumeru and its seven surrounding continents, eight        seas and ring of iron mountains form one small world, i.e. a world shone by a sun and a moon constitutes a small world. In        modern science, it most likely denoted a solar system. One thousand small worlds form a small universe or a chiliocosm. One        thousand small universes form a medium universe. One thousand medium universes constitute a great universe, i.e.        1,000,000,000 solar systems, which form a Buddha-world. Therefore, a Buddha-world is often called “thousand cubes of        universes.”    


AmitabhaYEf3. AmitabhaYEf.

Next Page

Previous Page