Home. Our Universe. BUDDHAS. BODHISATTVAS. Sutras. AmitabhaEf3.

Next Page


Previous Page

[23] Wonderful and Auspicious Bodhisattva means Manjusri Bodhisattva.

[24] Invincible Bodhisattva means Maitreya Bodhisattva.

[25] Sakra-devanam, also known as Indra, is the lord of Trayastrimsas, i.e. the thirty-three heavens.

[26] Mahabrahma Devaraja is the king of the Great Brahma Heaven.

[27] Saha means endurance of suffering.

[28] The four Lokapalas means the four deva-kings who ward off the world from the attack of evil spirits or Asuras, and their        names are Dhrtarastra, Virudhaka, Virupaksa and Dhanada..

[29] Asura means titanic demons, enemies of the gods, with whom, especially Indra, they wage constant war against the gods.

[30] “the Utmost Bliss” in Sanskrit called Sukhavati

[31] Tathagata means a person who has attained perfect wisdom.

[32] Each Buddha has ten titles (epithets), which are as follows: Worthy of worship, Omniscience (Samyak-sambodhi), Knowledge-        conduct-perfect (idya-carana-sampanna), Well-departed (Sugata), Knower of the world (Lokavid), The supreme nobleman        or the peerless nobleman (Anuttara), The master of tame and control (Purusa-damya-sarathi), Teacher of devas and men        (Sasta Devamanusyanam), Buddha or Tathagata, and The World-most-venerable (Lokajyesthat).

[33] Dharma means the truth.

[34] Good roots mean goods seeds sown by a person which will be reaped at a later time.

[35] Water jade is known as Musaragalva or Musalagarbha which means coral, big seashell, cornelian or agate.

[36] Supreme Samyagbodhi means the perfect universal wisdom of Buddha.

[37] Sari is a bird can talk.

[38] Kalavinka is a bird having a melodious voice which is found in the valleys of the Himalayas.

[39] Jivajiva is a bird with two heads which denotes mind and perception differing but the karma one.

[40] Rddhipada means ubiquitous traveling, i.e. supernatural power to appear at will in any place, which denote absolute freedom.    

[41] Pancendriyani means five roots, i.e. the five organs of our senses: eyes, ears, nose, tongue, and body as roots of knowing.

[42] Pancabalani means five powers (to destroy five obstacles), i.e. faith (destroying doubt), zeal (destroying remissness),        mindfulness (destroying falsity and ignorance), meditation (destroying confusion) and wisdom (destroying illusion and delusion).  

[43] Saptabodhyanga means seven characteristics of bodhi, i.e. (1) dharma-pravicaya-sambodhyanga: discrimination of the        truth and false, (2) virya-sam: zeal or continuous progress, (3) pritis: delight, (4) prasrabdhis: riddance of all grossness in order        to achieve, light, free and ease, (5) smrtis: mindfulness, (6) samadhis: meditation in order to keep the mind in a given realm        undiverted, and (7) upeksaka: complete abandonment and indifference to all disturbances of the sub-consciousness or ecstatic        mind.        

[44] Aryamarga means the eightfold noble paths, i.e. (1) samyag-drsti: correct view in regard to the four axioms, and freedom from        the common delusion, (2) samyak-samkalpa: correct thought and purpose, (3) samyag-vac: correct speech, and avoidance of        false and idle talk, (4) samyak-karmanta: correct deed or conduct, (5) samyag-ajiva: correct livelihood or occupation, (6)        samyag-vyayama: correct zeal or uninterrupted progress, (7) samyak-smrti: correct mindfulness, and (8) samyak-samadhi:        correct meditation, absorption, or abstraction.   

[45] The three evil realms mean animals, ghosts, and purgatories or hells.

[46] Kalpa is also called eon, which denotes an inconceivably long period of time. It has three different kalpas, i.e. small, medium        and great. A small kalpa is 16,798,000 years, which is counted in the following formula [(84,000-10) x 100 x 2], i.e. the original        human life is 84,000 years. Because of impurity human’s life decreases one year in every 100 years and such decrease        continues until human’s life is reduced to ten-years only, and thereafter increases one year in every 100 years until human’s life        reaches back to the original 84,000 years. Twenty small kalpas make one medium kalpa, and therefore a medium kalpa is        335,960,000 human years. There are four medium kalpas, which are formation, existence, dissolution, and void, and then the        same process repeats over and over again. Four medium kalpas make one great kalpa, and thus a great kalpa is 1,343,840,000        human years. One great kalpa denotes a life-cycle of a universe (formation, existence, dissolution, and void, and then the same        process repeats again and again).