Home. Our Universe. BUDDHAS. BODHISATTVAS. Sutras.



 [1] Prajnaparamita, i.e. sails across the sea of life & death, and free from the wheel of reincarnation. MIND Sutra is also known        as HEART Sutra. It is a Sutra of Wisdom, Purification, and Salvation.

 [2] Tripitaka means three baskets, i.e. Sutras (sermons/preaches of the Buddha), Vinaya (precepts and rules of monastic        discipline), and Abhidharma (commentarial literature or annotation on the Buddha’s teachings). One who is versed in all three        baskets is called Tripitaka Master.

 [3] Avalokiteœvara. Also known as the Sovereign Regarder, Regarder of the world’s sound, or Bodhisattva of Ubiquitous        Perception of the mundane voice, Omnipresent Hearer of those who call, or Bodhisattva of Self-Observance and Omni-        Freedom. Why Avalokiteœvara perceives the sound rather than hears the voice? This is the essence of the Mind Sutra, and we        can only find the answer through devoted discipline by breaking all the barriers of our eyes, ears, nose, tongue, physical body        and/or mind.

 [4] Bodhisattva is a characteristic feature of the Mahayana who seek not only their own salvation but also the salvation of others        and of all.  

 [5] Prajnaparamita also means discipline of mind purification and salvation, see footnote 1.

 [6] Pancaskandha means components and mainly refers to human being’s physical (rupa), sensation (vedana), mind (sanjna),        action (samskara) and sense/conscience (vijnana). Five Pancaskandha are form/image/phenomenon; feeling/reception;        conception/thinking; action; and sense/cognition/conscience.

 [7] Avalokiteœvara Bodhisattva is known for his ability in saving all sentient beings from pain and suffering and helping them to        resolve their problems.

 [8] Sariputra is one of the principal disciples of Sakyamuni Buddha, known for his wisdom and learning.

 [9] Dharma connotes Buddhism. “All Dharma is in the form of void” connotes that “everything is nothing but unreal.”

[10] Mental function also means Dharma.

[11] Avidya, i.e. darkness without light or illumination, which connotes ignorance and/or illusion.

[12] Duhkha, i.e. misery/suffering, which includes birth, age, illness, death, separate from the beloved one, meeting with those you        disliked, unable to achieve or get what you want and/or desire, suffering from 5 senses (see footnote 4) because of the aforesaid        seven afflictions.

[13] Samudaya which connotes all suffering gets together.

[14] Nirodha means extinction or annihilation.

[15] Marga, which connotes that due to the understanding of origination and assembly of misery/suffering and with the intent to get        rid of it, one starts to find the right path to Enlightenment.   

[16] Jnana or prajna: which connotes wisdom that beyond the mundane knowledge.

[17] Nirvana means the ultimate liberation, enlightenment or eternity.

[18] Anuttara-samyaksambodhi or Anubodhi, which means the unexcelled or complete enlightenment, the perfect wisdom, or the        universal knowledge.

[19] Dharani or mantra.

[20] gati, gati, prajnagati, prajnasam gati, bodhi svaha means cross-over, cross-over, cross-over the sea of  life & death        (denotes the wheel of reincarnation), we all cross-over the sea of life & death, and attain the complete enlightenment in the        soonest way.  



Previous Page

(Click the [ # ] to continue reading.)


More Sutras